Home Page 主頁
Personal Site
on Twitter...
Facebook Profile
Father Anthony's Linked in profile About Fr. Anthony Ho
Fr. Anthony Ho
Fr Anthony Ho's Corner
Home Page
The Latest Series of Articles
The Latest Article
Weekly Article
Audio Talks

20120528 Jesus ordains ministers 耶穌親授聖職

Holy orders and matrimony are sacraments at the service of communion. The Catechism of Catholic Doctrine states: “Holy orders is a sacrament instituted by Our Lord Jesus Himself, by which is given the power of administering the sacraments, together with grace to administer them worthily.”
There are three different sacred orders: deacons, priests, and bishops.
Matter and form
The minister of holy orders is the bishop. According to Father John Hardon’s The Question and Answer Catholic Catechism, “The sacramental matter in the ordination of deacons, priests, and bishops is the imposition of the bishop’s hand upon each individual candidate.”
“The form in the ordination of deacons, priests, and bishops consists of the words of the consecrating prayer.”
The essential consecrating prayer for deacons is: “Lord, send forth upon him the Holy Spirit, that he may be strengthened by the gift of your sevenfold grace to carry out faithfully the work of the ministry.”
The form of ordination for priests is: “Almighty Father, grant to this servant of yours the dignity of the priesthood. Renew within him the Spirit of Holiness. As a co-worker with the order of bishops may he be faithful to the ministry that he receives from You, Lord God, and be to others a model of right conduct.”
The form of consecration for a bishop is: “So now pour out upon this chosen one that power which is from You, the governing Spirit Whom You gave to Your beloved Son, Jesus Christ, the Spirit given by Him to the holy apostles, who founded the Church in every place to be Your temple for the unceasing glory and praise of Your name.”
Sacramental effects
Father Hardon writes, “The sacrament of orders imprints an indelible character on the soul; confers the power corresponding, separately, to the diaconate, the priesthood, and the episcopate; increases sanctifying grace; and imparts sacramental grace as a title to the actual graces necessary for fulfilling the ecclesiastical responsibilities that belong to each of the three stages of this sacrament.”
The Catechism of the Catholic Church states: “Among other tasks, it is the task of deacons to assist the bishop and priests in the celebration of the divine mysteries, above all the Eucharist, in the distribution of Holy Communion, in assisting at and blessing marriages, in the proclamation of the Gospel and preaching, in presiding over funerals, and in dedicating themselves to the various ministries of charity.”
The primary ministry of a priest is to celebrate Mass and to forgive sins, and his pastoral duties are to teach, lead, and sanctify. The main emphasis in the ordination of a priest is the holiness expected of him.
The main power a bishop receives at his consecration is to confer the sacrament of holy orders. According to Christus Dominus (Vatican II), “The bishops having been appointed by the Holy Spirit, are successors of the apostles as pastors of souls. Together with the supreme Pontiff and under his authority they are sent to continue throughout the ages the work of Christ, the Eternal Pastor.”
St. John Bosco once pointed out three signs of a priestly vocation. First: moral goodness. The saint saw the keeping of the commandments regarding the virtue of chastity as a fundamental requirement of moral goodness.
Second: sufficient intellectual ability. Third: clerical spirit: the inclination and interest to participate in the liturgical ceremonies of the Church. Clerical spirit also includes the strong desire for the clerical state, and the preference of the clerical state over all other positions in society.
“A priest, whoever he may be, is always another Christ,” according to St. Josemaria Escriva.

三)神職精神: 熱誠和有興趣參與聖教的禮儀。神職精神也包括對神職地位的渴望,這渴望比對其他地位的渴望都要強。